Skip to content
cutline
UCATAdmissionsAustralia

UCAT ANZ Australia: universities, scores and 2028 entry

UCAT ANZ Australia applicants sit the same test as students in New Zealand, and each university then decides what the score is for. UCAT ANZ 2027 is the test you sit in July 2027 for 2028 entry. Most Australian universities haven't published their 2028 rules yet, so this guide uses the 2027 entry rules (test sat in 2026) as the reference point. It covers every Australian university on the UCAT ANZ consortium's 2027 entry list, including both partners in the Newcastle and UNE Joint Medical Program.

UCAT ANZ Australia: how does each university use the score?

The consortium's university list names courses, not whole universities. Some schools run pathways that don't need UCAT at all, and some ask international applicants for a different test. Each row below is for 2027 entry, with UCAT sat in 2026. A number appears only where the university published one, and any figure from an earlier intake carries its own years in the cell.

Here is how each consortium university used the 2026 test for 2027 entry.

University and courseUCAT use and final weightSJT usePublished figureApplication route
Adelaide University, Medicine, Dental Surgery, Oral HealthInterview screen; 20% finalTie-breakNot publishedSATAC
CQUniversity, Medical Science to UQ MDInterview screen; 25% finalTie-break in entry PDF (see note)Not publishedQTAC
Charles Sturt, Medicine, Dental ScienceInterview selection; final weight not publishedNot statedNot publishedUAC
Curtin, Medicine30% of shortlist; 20% finalNot mentioned; score out of 2700Not publishedTISC
Flinders, Clinical Sciences and Medicine10% finalIncludedNot publishedSATAC
Griffith, Dental Health ScienceInterview screen; 20% finalNot stated2026 entry, 2025 test: 2320; rural 1860QTAC
Griffith, Medical Science to Griffith MDOptional; breaks ties within an ATAR bandNot stated (see note)2026 entry, 2025 test: 2240 tie-break at ATAR 99.90, Gold CoastQTAC
Monash, MedicineDecember interview screen; one third of final rankTie-break2027 entry, 2026 test: 2390; Dean's Rural List 2120VTAC
Newcastle, Joint Medical ProgramCognitive ranks for the JMP Assessment; final weight not publishedExcluded for 2027 entryNot publishedDirect JMP application and UAC
New England, Joint Medical ProgramSame joint selection as NewcastleExcluded for 2027 entryNot publishedDirect JMP application and UAC
UNSW, MedicineInterview screen and final rank; weight not disclosedNot considered2027 entry, 2026 test: 50th percentile minimum; Rural 40thUAC and Medicine Application Form
UQ, Medicine; Dental ScienceMD 25% final; Dental ranks all four sectionsMD tie-break; Dental includedMD 2026 entry, 2025 test: 2290; rural 1960QTAC
UniSQ, Medicine Pathway to UQ MDInterview screen; 25% finalTie-breakNot publishedQTAC
UniSC, Medical Science to Griffith MDOptional; same tie-break rule as GriffithNot statedNot publishedQTAC
UTAS, MedicineBreaks ties between equal ATARsExcludedDomestic not published; international 50th percentileDirect to UTAS
UWA, MD and DMD assured pathwaysInterview screen; 20% finalNot currently countedNo set minimumTISC
Western Sydney, MedicineInterview threshold; 25% finalNot statedNot publishedUAC

Sources: UCAT ANZ university list, UNSW, Monash, UQ, JMP, Adelaide, Flinders, Curtin, UWA, UTAS, Griffith Dental, Griffith Medical Science, Western Sydney, Charles Sturt, CQU, UniSQ and UniSC, checked 14 October 2026.

A few cells squash two stages together. Curtin's 30 percent is its interview shortlist; its 20 percent is the final offer formula. UQ's 2290 and 1960 are interview invitation scores for 2026 entry, from the test sat in 2025, and Griffith's three figures come from that same intake. Two pages disagree with themselves, so we haven't picked a side. CQU's course page says it adds "the first four sections", while its entry PDF uses SJT only to break ties. Griffith's Medical Science page calls the tie-break score the "Total Score" in one place and the "Overall Score" in another, so it doesn't say plainly whether SJT is in it. If a cell says not published, leave it empty in your notes. A prep company's estimate can't fill it.

How do I read a UCAT cut-off without mixing years?

First ask what the number decided: eligibility, an interview invitation or an offer. UNSW published 50th and 40th percentile minimums for 2027 entry, using the test sat in 2026. Our UNSW guide explains why clearing them only gets you into the process. Monash's official series gives the lowest December interview invitation for each applicant group. The UQ provisional entry guide keeps its 2026 entry interview scores apart from its 2027 entry selection formula.

Then check the scale. UCAT ANZ dropped Abstract Reasoning in 2025, so any test sat before 2025 has a cognitive total out of 3600. The current three-section total is out of 2700. Monash's figures for 2025 entry and earlier are on that old 3600 scale, and you can't line them up against a test sat in 2026. The score calculator adds up current cognitive sections; it can't convert an old cut-off into a new one. The official scoring page explains why SJT is reported on its own.

When a university says its cut-off isn't published, take that as the answer. Western Sydney, the JMP, Charles Sturt Medicine, Curtin and Adelaide still explain how they assess you, and our weighting comparison sets those rules side by side without making up a number.

Does Situational Judgement matter at Australian universities?

It depends on the course. UNSW doesn't consider the SJT mark, and the JMP left it out for 2027 entry (test sat in 2026). Monash and UQ Medicine used it only to break ties. UQ Dental added all four sections, SJT included, to its ranking, and Flinders said its UCAT-derived score uses all four. Western Sydney and Charles Sturt don't say. The SJT by university guide sorts these out and links each official page.

You sit the SJT whatever your first preference does with it, and another course on your list may count it. The free Situational Judgement practice page works alongside UCAT ANZ's official tutorials.

Which pathways change the general UCAT picture?

Rural entry can change who you compete against, the interview threshold, your ATAR adjustment or your final rank, and each university does it differently. UNSW published a 40th percentile Rural Entry minimum for 2027 entry (test sat in 2026). Monash published a separate Dean's Rural List December invitation score of 2120 for the same intake. UQ published a rural lowest invitation score of 1960 for 2026 entry, from a test sat in 2025. Our rural pathway comparison puts the eligibility rules next to those numbers.

The Newcastle and UNE Joint Medical Program guide explains why there's no JMP number to quote and why you need a direct JMP application on top of UAC. Indigenous pathways at several universities run their own process, some without UCAT. Check the named pathway on the university's page before you assume you're exempt.

Dentistry has its own rules. Adelaide, Charles Sturt, Griffith, UQ and UWA all have dental or oral health courses on the consortium list. UQ Dental counts SJT in a four-section total, and Griffith Dental is the only one with a published past interview score. The dentistry guide compares all five and keeps Medicine rules out of the dental rows.

What does the Australian application process involve?

Booking UCAT doesn't apply you to a university. For 2027 entry, NSW courses went through UAC, Monash through VTAC, Queensland courses through QTAC, South Australian courses through SATAC and Western Australian courses through TISC. UTAS took applications directly, and the JMP wanted a direct application as well as UAC. Most of those closed on or around 30 September 2026, and none of them shared a deadline with the test booking. The UCAT cycle page holds the test dates; each admissions centre and university holds its own.

UCAT ANZ 2027 dates and fees for 2028 entry weren't out when I checked. UCAT ANZ put the 2026 dates up in early November 2025, so we expect the 2027 dates around November 2026, with booking opening in early March as it did in 2025 and 2026. Nothing is confirmed until ucat.edu.au updates. The Concession Scheme guide walks through the 2026 card rules and voucher steps, and it labels A$240 as the 2026 price.

A note on where this comes from. I'm an Otago med student and I sat the same test, but Cutline is NZ-based and I haven't been through an Australian admissions round. Everything about Australian universities here comes from their own pages. If you're a New Zealander applying across the Tasman, check citizenship rules route by route: some schools treat NZ citizens as domestic for general entry and then shut them out of rural or bonded places.

Check the sitting rules before any of this. An Australian Year 11 student couldn't sit the 2026 test, even while taking a Year 12 subject, and a student doing Year 12 over two years could sit only in the final year. The official eligibility page says you can sit once per cycle and your result counts for one admissions cycle only. For 2028 entry, the sitting that counts is UCAT ANZ 2027. Sitting a year early gets you a result you can't use.

Test-day rules come from UCAT ANZ. In 2026 you needed original, current, accepted photo ID that matched your Pearson registration, and the ID policy refused student cards and digital ID. People lose their booking at check-in over this. Read the updated policy before you book in 2027 and fix any name mismatch well before test day.

How should I prepare while 2028 rules are pending?

Start with the official format and question material. In the 2026 cycle, Verbal Reasoning, Decision Making and Quantitative Reasoning made up the cognitive total, and Situational Judgement was reported separately. Use the Verbal Reasoning, Decision Making and Quantitative Reasoning pages for section practice. The official practice guide sets out an order for the free UCAT ANZ resources, and mock scores versus real scores explains why a practice estimate isn't an admissions prediction.

A few 2028 signals were out by 14 October 2026. TISC's 2028 booklet lists UCAT and Casper for Curtin Medicine, and UCAT with an interview for UWA. VTAC lists Monash's 2028 English and Chemistry prerequisites. UNSW says its redesigned program starts in 2028 with the same admission and entry pathways. None of that gives you a 2028 cut-off, weighting, booking date or interview date. JMP, UQ and Adelaide have all changed how they use the SJT within the last two cycles, so expect some rules to move.

Keep one sheet per course you plan to list. Write down the applicant category, the admissions centre, any direct university form, rural or equity evidence, prerequisites and the current UCAT rule, with a source link and the intake year beside each line. It stops the classic mistake of prepping hard for one school's interview and missing another school's separate form. When a university swaps its 2027 page for the 2028 version, you've got one place to update.

Keep your practice log somewhere else. A mock score tells you how a subtest is going, and a university's rule tells you whether and how you can apply. Mixing the two leads to target numbers nobody published. Spend your time on what you can control now: learn the interface with the official tutorials, work through the question banks, and use timed sets to find where your pace breaks.

What else do applicants ask?

Does a 2026 UCAT result work for 2028 entry?

No. The UCAT ANZ eligibility rules make a result valid for one admissions cycle. A test sat in 2026 is for 2027 entry only.

Does every Australian medical school use UCAT?

No. This table covers the courses on the consortium's 2027 entry list. Other medical schools and graduate-entry programs set their own requirements, and we haven't covered them here.

Is there one Australian UCAT cut-off?

No. Universities use the score at different stages for different applicant groups, and most don't publish a number.

Are 2028 entry cut-offs available?

Not yet. None of the universities in the table had published a 2028 UCAT cut-off (test sat in 2027) when I checked on 14 October 2026.


If you want timed practice by subtest while you sort out your course list, see how Cutline UCAT practice works.

Cutline is NZ-based and is not affiliated with or endorsed by the UCAT ANZ Consortium or the universities in the table. UCAT is used here only to describe the test. University and UCAT ANZ information checked 14 October 2026. Check each official university page for 2028 entry rules when published.

UCAT practice that looks like the real test.

Questions written by Cutline, laid out and timed the way the UCAT ANZ is.

Keep reading